WSBK – Fate hits the leaders at Monza – Pole for Spies

Fate hits the leaders at Monza

WSBK - Fate hits the leaders at Monza - Pole for Spies

Sunday at Monza, Spies should have won both races while Haga and Neukirchner could have accompanied him on both podiums. But the race wanted it differently! In Supersport, Yamaha, Kawasaki and Triumph still harass Honda…

Pole for Spies

And five! The rookie Ben Spies signs his 5th pole in a row on Saturday afternoon and approaches the record of Doug Polen, who had managed to do six consecutive poles at the start of the 1991 season….

On Pirelli’s new qualifying tires – recognizable by their yellow stripe when they leave the cash register – the official Yamaha rider set a new lap record at Monza by completing the circuit in 1 ‘44.073 against 1’ 44.931 for Bayliss the last year.

Big Ben’s feat gains even more presence by observing the average speed of his R1: the 5,739 meters of the famous Italian pistol-shaped circuit were covered by the blue bullet at 200.386 km / h! A great performance "at home", the headquarters of the Yamaha team being based next to the Milan circuit.

First of all the practice sessions, Michel Fabrizio is blown off the pole for barely two tenths. However, the Italian does not have to be ashamed, far from it, since he also crosses the 200 km / h bar on average, finds himself first Italian on the grid as well as the first Ducati rider. !

Completed by Ryuichi Kiyonari (Honda Ten Kate) and Max Neukirchner (Suzuki Alstare), the first row therefore welcomes four different manufacturers, and a fifth point in the second row: Max Biaggi on his Aprilia RSV4 is in 7th place, behind Noriyuki Haga (Ducati Xerox) and Jonathan Rea (Honda Ten Kate) but ahead of Yukio Kagayama (Suz ‘Alstare), Carlos Checa (Honda Ten Kate) and Tom Sykes (Yamaha WSB).

BMW climbs to third row thanks to Troy Corser and its 11th place. The Australian is ahead of Regis Laconi (Ducati DFX Corse) and Broc Parkes, first Kawasaki rider, who leads the 4th row. Disappointments for Leon Haslam (Honda Stiggy) and Jakub Smrz (Ducati Guandalini) who will start from 17th and 20th place respectively. David Checa (Yam ‘GMT94), on the 3rd R1 of the grid will start from a distant 26th place.

In Supersport, Cal Crutchlow followed the example of his counterpart in Superbike and took his 4th consecutive pole on the handlebars of his official Yamaha R6. But the English rookie will have a lot to do: he is followed at 33 thousandths by Joan Lascorz on his ZX-6R n ° 26, then less than a tenth by his own teammate Fabien Foret on his Yam ‘n ° 99.

Eugene Laverty climbs to the first row but is relegated to 3 tenths, while the second row is almost a second behind the leading men. This 2nd line consists of Mark Aitchison (Honda Althea), Kenan Sofuoglu (Honda Ten Kate), Andrew Pitt (Honda Ten Kate) and Gianluca Nannelli (Triumph Parkingo BE1), from whom we can hope for a nice one-man-show at the helm of his Daytona 675.

A second Triumph leads 3rd place, that of veteran Garry McCoy (Parkingo BE1), who dominates Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki and our second representative in World Supersport, Matthieu Lagrive (Honda Althea).

Related articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *