WSBK – The Mondial Superbike sets Assen on fire! – The pole for Rea

The Mondial Superbike sets fire to Assen !

WSBK - The Mondial Superbike sets Assen on fire! - The pole for Rea

Yesterday in Assen, Rea, Toseland, Camier, Haslam, Corser and their comrades gave us two of the most beautiful races in the history of the World Superbike. In Supersport, the three strong men of the championship also fought hard… Reports !

The pole for Rea

For the first time in his career – a short career in the SBK World Cup in fact, since he is playing his second season in this category – Jonathan Rea won the Superpole on Saturday afternoon at the Assen circuit in the Netherlands. At the controls of his CBR1000RR Ten Kate, the young Englishman flew over the debates.

Admittedly, Johnny is only a small tenth ahead of his closest opponent, but he remains the only driver to have passed the 1 ’35 mark and at the same time establishes the track record – slightly revised and corrected -, to the delight of his Batavian team.

Behind Rea is a specialist in freediving tours: Jakub Smrz! On his private Ducati (Pata B&G Racing), the Czech rider is ahead of the World Superbike "Mr Pole Position" Troy Corser (BMW Motorrad) and the current championship leader, Leon Haslam (Suzuki Alstare).

A fifth manufacturer takes the lead in the 2nd row: Aprilia, and the RSV4 n ° 2 of Leon Camier! The native of Noale dominates three other Italians, all from Bologna: the private Ducatis of Carlos Checa and Shane Byrne (Althea Racing) and the very official n ° 84 of Michel Fabrizio.

The two official Yamaha – the only two R1 on the grid since the start of GMT94 – were unable to participate in the final phase of the Superpole: Cal Crutchlow will start from 9th place, James Toseland from 10th. Max Biaggi (Aprilia Alitalia) and Ruben Xaus (BMW Motorrad) complete the 3rd row.

Our Frenchie Sylvain Guintoli (Suzuki Alstare) qualifies in 13th position, ahead of Tom Sykes – first Kawasaki rider -, Noriyuki Haga – decidedly angry with the qualifiers this year – and Max Neukirchner – teammate of Jonathan Rea -.

In the Supersport category, Kenan Sofuoglu also imposes his CBR Ten Kate. With the pole of Maxime Berger in Superstock 1000 and the victory of Florian Marino in Superstock 600, the Team of Ronald has had a decidedly radiant Saturday !

With his 1 ‘37.908, the 2007 world champion overcomes the competition: Eugene Laverty (Honda Parkalgar), Michele Pirro (Honda Ten Kate) and Joan Lascorz (Kawasaki are relegated to more than half a second !

On the 2nd row are our two compatriots Fabien Foret (Kawasaki Lorenzini) and Matthieu Lagrive (Triumph Parkingo BE1). Two solid chances of seeing the tricolor flag floating on one of the three steps of the podium on Sunday afternoon.

The two French are followed by the ZX-6R of Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki, the Daytona 675 of David Salom and Chaz Davies (Triumph Parkingo BE1) and the CBR600RR of Robbin Harms (Harms Benjan Racing) and Gino Rea (Intermoto) Czech).

Related articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *