WSBK – WSSP Netherlands: Smith wins Assen sprint –

WSSP Netherlands: Smith wins Assen sprint

WSBK - WSSP Netherlands: Smith wins Assen sprint -

Launched under a bright sun, the Supersport race in Assen was interrupted in its 9th lap by a heavy downpour. The victory was therefore played in a sprint of six laps in the wet and was won by Smith … Supersport Race Assen 2016 Randy Krummenacher starts very strong from his third place on …

Launched under a beautiful sun, the Supersport race in Assen was interrupted in its 9th lap by a heavy downpour. The victory therefore came in a six-lap sprint in the wet and was won by Smith…

Supersport Assen Race 2016

Randy Krummenacher started very strongly from his third place on the grid, but the poleman Kenan Sofuoglu took the reins of the race on the first braking. The Swiss rookie comes out of the long and slow start of the course in fourth position, behind Patrick Jacobsen and Luke Stapelford.

Falling during the first Superpole session, Jules Cluzel starts from 13th place on the Dutch grid and points to 12th place at the end of the 1st lap. Our second representative, the French champion Cedric Tangre, occupies the 27th place at the controls of his GSX-R600.

Sofuoglu sets his pace at the start of the race and leads with several lengths ahead. But Jacobsen does not let go of the leader and gets back on the quadruple world champion during the second round. England champion Stapelford keeps the leading duo in his sights .

Eight seconds from the podium occupied by a Kawasaki, a Honda and a Triumph, the official MV Agusta n ° 16 struggles to climb back into the peloton: at the start of the 4th lap, our national "Julo" overtook his teammate Zanetti and entered the Top 10.

At the forefront, Jacobsen took control of the race on the 5th lap! In the fast portion, the American moves away from the Turk. The latter, put under pressure by the English rookie Stapelford, makes the effort to get back into Jacobsen’s rear wheel in the next loop.

10 seconds behind the leading trio, Cluzel stumbles on an old acquaintance: Nico Terol! The peloton is still dense: four pilots are in front of our "Coq Supersportif". Reaching the Top 5, however, promises to be difficult because Baldolini (fifth) rolls six seconds ahead of Smith (sixth).

Luck perhaps smiles on Jules: drops are falling on the circuit … The rain intensifies quickly and the red flags are quickly out! PJ Jacobsen gets caught in the last – very fast – section of the circuit and loses the lead at high speed.

The leader joined the pits late on the handlebars of a badly damaged motorcycle. The mechanics of the Ten Kate team will have to replace many parts in just a few minutes to allow the American to get back on the track…

Going unnoticed at first, the fall of Luke Stapelford is reported during the break. The English champion was in a remarkable third place when the heavy downpour hit. His team will also have to activate because the final sprint is looming.

The Supersport race resumes for just six laps! The grid corresponds to the order of passage of the pilots on the finish line at the end of the 8th lap: Jacobsen, Sofuoglu, Krummenacher, Baldolini, Smith, Rea, Jez, Rolfo, Cluzel, etc..

Second start: Krummenacher made the holeshot but was again overtaken by Sofuoglu at the entrance of the first corner. Follow Jacobsen, Rea, Smith, Baldolini, Ryde, Mikhalchik, Cluzel and Stapelford. Tangre is 25th … ahead of Cluzel who went off the track in the first lap! Jules’s teammate is even less varnished: Lorenzo Zanetti falls in the 2nd round…

In front, Krummenacher takes the lead in the race but Sofuoglu tries an attack at the start of the 3rd lap. The second attempt is the right one: the champion plants a big braking to settle in first position. The two Kawasaki riders tackle the final chicane head-on and the Swiss must move aside in the gravel…

Kenan Sofuoglu now precedes Gino Rea, Patrick Jacobsen and Kyle Smith. Randy Krummenacher completed the 4th lap three seconds behind the leading quartet. The peloton is 10 seconds behind the # 21 ZX-6R. Jules Cluzel rolls in 19th position, Cedric Tangre in 17th

The battle rages on at the front of the race and PJ Jacobsen loses the front by pushing too hard! Sofuoglu opens a slight gap in the penultimate lap but loses it by pushing aside in the first corner … Smith takes advantage of the champion’s error to get out of the first sequence in the lead.

Smith has not yet won the race: his compatriot Gino Rea is in the wheel of Honda n ° 111. A little heat when accelerating (as a reminder, Supersports no longer have the right to traction control!), However, prevents any attack from the pilot MV Agusta n ° 4.

Kyle Smith, winner of the last 2015 race in Qatar, takes his second World Supersport victory ahead of Gino Rea and Kenan Sofuoglu. The quadruple champion performs well in the championship since he is ahead of his teammate Krummenacher, still leader of the provisional.

Cedric Tangre can be satisfied with his 15th place obtained today in Assen. Our Suzuki rider, registered in the European Superstock 600 category, wins his first point. PJ Jacobsen and Jules Cluzel on the contrary, leave with a bubble…

Related articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *