WSBK – Baz, Mahias and Cluzel on the podium in Portimao –

Baz, Mahias and Cluzel on the podium in Portimao

WSBK - Baz, Mahias and Cluzel on the podium in Portimao -

In addition to Johann Zarco in MotoGP, three other French climbed the podium this weekend in world speed: Loris Baz in Superbike and Lucas Mahias then Jules Cluzel in Supersport. cock-a-doodle Doo !

Loris Baz, 3rd in the WorldSBK Superpole race

It therefore took “5 years and 281 days”, from Qatar in 2014, for Loris Baz to finally return to the podium during the Superpole race of the third round of WorldSBK this weekend in Portimão (Portugal), before fall during the second race.

  • MNC special file :
  • World Superbike 2020 :

Author of an excellent start from sixth place on the grid, the Haut-Savoyard quickly took third position and managed to maintain it until the finish.

"I’m very happy to make it happen!", Rejoices Loris: "We have made big changes to the electronics since yesterday in a totally different direction. It was going a lot better and it’s a huge relief! It was complicated. for quite some time and it feels good to finish on the podium. Even if it’s the sprint race, it’s a race and it’s a podium. It’s my first podium since 2014, my first podium since returning to WorldSBK, the first podium for the Ten Kate team since 2016 and the team’s first podium with Yamaha. Many first times and it feels good! I’m very happy and I dedicate this result too well to all the people who have believed in me since returning to WorldSBK and to all who doubted my ability to go fast. The second race was weird. I fell on the first lap at the corner of the most I got out of it very fortunately unscathed. I have a few bruises It’s all over the place, but for a drop to 200 km / h I’m doing fine. There were a lot of falls and the pace was slow. I think the grip was worse … I apologize to the team for ending this way, but we got our first podium and that’s what we have to keep. We will try to record a few more in Aragón ".

Lucas Mahias, 2nd in the first Supersport race

"This race was difficult and the conditions were slightly different from the practice", explains the Kawasaki Puccetti Racing rider. "It was also warmer because it’s the first time we were riding at 5pm, it was very windy and it hampered the bike. I don’t have an aerodynamic position either so I lost a lot of time. When I saw the leading group I started to attack at first but I was two seconds behind and my pace didn’t allow me to get back on them I realized that a good finish would be OK. Then when I saw Jules (Cluzel, Editor’s note) fall, I thought "OK, everyone must be on the cleat" so to keep my lead on the group behind I took second place ".

Jules Cluzel, 2nd in the second Supersport race

"This is Jules Cluzel’s tenth podium since he joined GMT94!", Reckons Christophe Guyot: "his fourth victory with us seemed possible for ten laps," continued the team manager of the team. “We still lack a little something, but it is the case for everyone in this very tough championship and we are working to reverse the trend. Bravo to Jules who gives everything without ever giving up. Corentin brings back some good points. The very good news is our position at the top of the provisional classification in the team world championship ".

World Superbike 2020 ranking after Portimao

  1. Jonathan Rea 136 Kawasaki
  2. Scott Redding 132 Ducati
  3. Toprak Razgatlioglu 103 Yamaha
  4. Alex Lowes 91 Kawasaki
  5. Michael van der Mark 82 Yamaha
  6. Chaz Davies 75 Ducati
  7. Alvaro Bautista 55 Honda
  8. Loris Baz 54 Yamaha
  9. Michael Ruben Rinaldi 53 Ducati
  10. Tom Sykes 47 BMW
  11. Leon Haslam 36 Honda
  12. Garrett Gerloff 22 Yamaha
  13. Marco Melandri 17 Ducati
  14. Eugene Laverty 16 BMW
  15. Sandro Cortese 14 Kawasaki
  16. Xavi Fores 14 Kawasaki
  17. Federico Caricasulo 12 Yamaha
  18. Maximilian Scheib 10 Kawasaki
  19. Leandro Mercado 7 Ducati
  20. Christophe Ponsson 4 Aprilia
  21. Sylvain Barrier 1 Ducati

World Supersport 2020 ranking after Portimao

  1. Andrea Locatelli 125 Yamaha
  2. Jules Cluzel 90 Yamaha
  3. Lucas Mahias 62 Kawasaki
  4. Corentin Perolari 57 Yamaha
  5. Philipp Oettl 49 Kawasaki
  6. Steven Odendaal 49 Yamaha
  7. Isaac Viñales 44 Yamaha
  8. Raffaele de Rosa 42 mv agusta
  9. Hannes Soomer 39 Yamaha
  10. Manuel Gonzalez 39 Kawasaki
  11. Can Alexander Oncu 24 Kawasaki
  12. Danny Webb 20 Yamaha
  13. Peter Sebestyen 13 Yamaha
  14. Miquel Pons 9 Yamaha
  15. Alejandro Ruiz Carranza 8 Yamaha
  16. Loris Cresson 6 Yamaha
  17. Patrick Hobelsberger 5 Honda
  18. Federico Fuligni 5 MV Agusta
  19. Andy Verdoïa 4 Yamaha
  20. Kevin Manfredi 3 Yamaha
  21. Axel Bassani 3 Yamaha
  22. Jaimie van Ssikkelerus 2 Yamaha
  23. Galang Hendra Pratama 1 Yamaha
  24. Luigi Pontella 1 Yamaha

Related articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *